The Legal Examiner Affiliate Network The Legal Examiner The Legal Examiner The Legal Examiner search feed instagram google-plus avvo phone envelope checkmark mail-reply spinner error close The Legal Examiner The Legal Examiner The Legal Examiner
Skip to main content

If you’re going to drive for Uber or Lyft and/or ride with Uber or Lyft– whether you’re in Detroit or anywhere else in the state – you need to know the rules for who is liable in a Michigan Uber or Lyft accident.

Uber and other so-called “transportation network companies” – such as Lyft – took Michigan by storm over the last few years and, in 2016, the Michigan Legislature decided it was time to set down some ground rules to make sure everyone stays safe – and is properly taken care in the event of a tragedy.

Before I get to the legal rules, however, I do want to point out the “vehicle requirements” that Uber has set out for its Detroit drivers:

  • 15-year-old vehicle or newer
  • 4-door vehicle
  • Good condition with no cosmetic damage
  • No commercial branding
  • At least 21 years of age
  • Valid US driver’s license
  • Proof of personal Michigan No-Fault Auto Insurance
  • Proof of vehicle registration
  • Pass a vehicle inspection if your vehicle is 5 model years or older

Uber’s point is clear: Safety starts with a safe vehicle that is fully in compliance with the law.

Now, for the rules about liability for No-Fault benefits and pain and suffering compensation after an Uber or Lyft crash.

For Uber and Lyft passengers, here’s what they need to know:

  • Generally, they will receive No-Fault benefits (such as payment of medical expenses and lost wages) through their own No-Fault auto insurance policy or that of a spouse or resident relative.
  • Otherwise, they will collect benefits from the auto insurance company that covers the Uber or Lyft vehicle.
  • Pain and suffering compensation will come from the at-fault driver who caused the accident – whether that’s the Uber or Lyft driver or another driver.
  • If the Uber or Lyft driver was at-fault or if an uninsured or underinsured non-Uber driver was at-fault, then the passenger will be covered by a $1 million liability limit (that’s required by law) or a $1 million liability limit on a UM/UIM policy that is provided by Uber and Lyft.

To learn more – such as who’s liable to pay benefits and compensation when another driver, a pedestrian or an Uber driver is injured in an Uber crash – please click here.

Related Articles:

Comments for this article are closed, but you may still contact the author privately.